Interview of a Dominican refugee in Martinique after « Maria »

On September 20, 2017 a violent Hurricane hurt Dominica and caused a lot of damages. In the wake of the hurricane, more than 85% of the island’s houses were damaged and 25% were completely destroyed ! Approximately 73, 000 residents were displaced in other islands or in villages which were not destroyed by « Maria » !

 

 

How was life before Hurrcane Maria ?

Life was normal. I used to go to school, to do my homework, to practise a sport… like any child ! But life was hard because my family wasn’t very rich !

What happened during Hurricane Maria ? And what did you do ?

Before the hurricane, we barricade the house. During the hurricane the roof was flown away, and half of the house collapsed !

How did you come to Martinique and why ?

I came by boat because a very good friend of ours offered to host us in Martinique because life in Dominica had become too hard !

Do you prefer life in Martinique or in Dominica ?

I like the life in Martinique best because it’s more simple but I miss Dominica and my friends who stayed there and I find it difficult to speak French every day !

Today the situation is better but there is a lot of work to rebuild all the house and buildings ! And a lot of people live without water and electricity at home.  That’s why  Joseph Zobel high school has decided to raise money to buy a generator for a village in Dominica !

LUKA 2G3

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Propulsé par WordPress.com.

Retour en haut ↑